• Advertisements

All-American team & other award winners named

Williams defenseman Zander Masucci was named to the all-American first team (east) to cap off his outstanding career for the Ephs while Trinity forward junior Sean Orlando was named to the third team.  Congratulations to these two outstanding NESCAC players. It was otherwise a bit of a down year for the NESCAC as the ECAC West and SUNYAC led the way with five all-Americans each, followed closely by the New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) with four all-Americans.  Contrast this year’s modest NESCAC accomplishments with 2015 when 5 NESCAC players were named all-Americans and 2014 when 6 NESCAC players were named all-Americans.

The coach of the year award (the Edward  Jeremiah award) was shared by UMass-Boston Coach Peter Belisle and Geneseo Coach Chris Schultz. It’s hard to imagine better choices for the CoY award as UMass-Boston, with its underdog status as a commuter school and its turn-around record, scored its first-ever NEHC championship and Geneseo won the SUNYAC championship with a great late season run from the third seed while coping with the pain and grief associated with the brutal and senseless murder of d-man Matt Hutchinson in January.

The winner of the player of the award (the Sid Watson award) was Babson goalie Jamie Murray, who completed a brilliant four-year career for the Beavers. As has been true for 7 of the past 11 years, the PoY award went to a goalie. The runner-up for the Watson award was high-scoring Geneseo forward Stephen Collins.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: