• Advertisements

ECAC hockey soon to be a thing of the past in New England

Maybe the ECAC East fans will stop complaining about the demise of the interlock at long last!!

The ECAC Northeast is to be replaced by the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), with regular season play to start for the 10-member conference in the fall of 2016 and the first post-season tournament to be played in the winter of 2017. Conference members are to include existing CCC members Curry, Endicott, Nichols, Salve Regina, University of New England, Wentworth Institute of Technology, Western New England College. Associate members of the new conference will be Becker, Johnson & Wales, and Suffolk.

The ECAC East is to be replaced by a new conference, apparently to be named the New England Hockey Conference. Members of the new 9-member conference are:  Babson, Castleton, New England College, Norwich, St. Anselm, St. Michael’s, Skidmore, Southern Maine, and UMass-Boston.

At the end of the day, the only really change is that UNE moves from the old ECAC East to the new version of the ECAC Northeast (the Commonwealth Coast Conference, the conference in which it already competes in most other sports). This article from the Maine Hockey Journal highlights why the change in conference affiliation will likely be good for the UNE program. The new leagues are expected to retain the same AQ rights in NCAA post-season play for the conference winner as the prior conferences did.

The NESCAC will chug along unaffected by these developments.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: